Whole Sweet Life

Home Again

Posted on: October 18, 2011

My husband and I got back home tonight from a vacation with my Grandparents – a whole (almost) 5 days of laying by the pool (until the weather turned crappy, stupid Florida), taking long walks, movie watching, and relaxing.  Although I knew I was going away before I started focusing on this lifestyle again, I decided that this time it couldn’t wait for a “better time” to start.  There are always going to be events, holidays, vacations, etc, and now is as good a time as any.  If I waited to “start” until a “better” time, I would never start.  I am SO glad I made that decision since I think I felt better on this trip than I have on the last few I have taken.  This was the best I have ever done trying to “stick to it” while I was away from home – I have had NO sugar in over a week, and other than a few tortilla chips and a bite or two of dairy I really felt that I did the best I could have, and for that I am proud of myself.  I even went out for ice cream with my grandma and her friends and chose to abstain.

It was definitely interesting trying to describe my new found eating habits to my grandparents – my grandma made many comments and faces about the “fatty” food I was eating and didn’t really seem to get it.  I did try to explain the best that I could, but in the end I knew it didn’t matter – it only matters what I think is right for myself.  They can continue to eat their cereal and bagels all day long (I did try to talk them out of it a little, only because I love them and want them to feel good), and I will do what I think is right.

My grandparents live in a retirement community, so I definitely got to hear a lot of the ongoing conversations that people were having with each other, especially while laying by the pool and taking in all that lovely Vitamin D.  It made me think a lot about the lifestyle choices we make and aging, and wondering what will happen to me as I get older.  Of course they all were talking about the many hospital visits and surgeries that they have been involved with, including lots of talk about joint and mobility issues.  It just makes me wonder some of these things can be avoided – I mean, that is part of the reason that we have chosen this lifestyle, right?  I know that not everything can definitely be avoided by lifestyle choices, but it just made me think a lot about it, and actually made me feel even more committed to what I think is the right way to eat.

On a side note – I was flipping through the TV channels (I don’t have cable any more at home so it’s always fun to check out the random things on TV these days), and saw on the Today Show this morning that they were talking about chronic inflammation.  I am always interested to see what the have to say since for the last few years I have had a slightly elevated C-Reactive Protein and am hoping that this lifestyle change will bring it back down.  The RD they had on the segment was talking about what to eat to bring down inflammation, and of course it was all blah blah, conventional wisdom, blah blah…but the thing that made me laugh was when she said that we needed to eat foods that “come from nature”, and proceeded to list saturated fats as something that was “unnatural” and “not from nature.” Ummm, last time I checked, animals and coconut (and whatever else) are pretty darn natural!  Oh, but of course all those veggie oils we see are totally just lying in a field somewhere ready to be plucked from the ground.  Ugh, so obnoxious.  I was just thinking about how I kinda missed TV, but after seeing that it makes me feel that maybe I am better off not listening to some of this crap!!

Ok so back to where I am at right now.  I think that the smartest thing for me to do right now is to really commit to doing a Whole30.  I have contemplated this before, but have always been wary about dropping the dairy and scared that I couldn’t really commit.  After the last 5 days of being away from home and feeling that I could really stick to this thing, even without the dairy, I am feeling super motivated and want to give it a shot (lately in the morning my stomach sometimes hurts me after breakfast and I wonder if it’s the butter, so I’m def interested in seeing what happens if I remove it).  Now it looks like ghee is Whole30 approved, and that might make things a little easier for me.  I have also been off sugar for 8 days, and think that was the hardest part of this whole thing anyways!! So the plan is to document my food choices day by day, and hopefully start to really re-incorporate some exercise as well.  There are two weekends that I will be away during the next 30 days, but as I said before, there is always going to be something that takes me out of my comfort zone, so now is as good a time as any to really give this a go.  I am going to try my best to blog every day so that I can have a journal of how this thing goes.

Here we go!!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • No comments yet

Categories

